Tivoli 2010: The Vikings Have Returned!

Last weekend, the weekend of May 28-30, Kyle and I went to yet another Viking event in Elk Horn, Iowa.  This weekend marked one full year of our involvement in Skjaldborg, and this time we were joined by a new member, my old roommate and best friend, Jessica.

Jessica!

Jessica!

She portrays a Norwegian Viking Lady from about the 950’s, an herbalist to be exact.  (Jessica is part Norwegian, actually, so that is why she portrays a Norwegian, just as Kyle and I portray Swedes.)  This is her ‘finery’, and only kit so far.  Even in her finery, she is not that richly dressed, for a Viking.  Her underdress is linen, and her overdress is fine wool.  Her overdress is my first attempt at a more ‘fitted’ overdress, complete with gores in the sides to make the skirt more full and also make it easier to walk.  I gave her my old brooches, which are pewter, and she has a pewter pendant based off a brooch from 10th Century Norway, and necklace and pair of earrings made from blue glass beads.

A Norwegian Viking Girl

A Norwegian Viking Girl

I also had a new dress, which was a gift to me from a friend.  She gave it to me at Ravensborg this spring, and while I had to fix a few tears along the seams it fits well and looks quite nice.

My New Kit!

My New Kit!

This New Kit Definitely Fits Better Than my Old One!

This New Kit Definitely Fits Better Than my Old One!

It was nice to wear this kit for the weekend, as it was quite warm and both the underdress and apron dress are made of linen.  The underdress is very fitted, made of natural linen, and the apron dress, while not quite as fitted, is made of a finer linen hand-dyed with woad!  I also did a little chain-stitch embroidery on the edges of the overdress to make it a little nicer.  All of my bling goes just as well with this dress as my other, good thing, and it was fun to finally have something new to wear!  (Wear the same dress for five viking events in a row, and you’ll understand.)

On Friday evening, there was a Viking Wedding.  Everyone wore their finery, and a good time was had by all!  Kyle was the sword-bearer for the bride, as part of the ceremony, and did a wonderful job.  (Now, since he didn’t mess up for that wedding, he is terribly afraid he is going to mess something up in my wedding.  I told him not to worry.)

Passing on the Sword

Passing on the Sword

Of course, besides the normal crafts of spinning, weaving, and nålbinding, none of which I took pictures of, unfortunately, there was a lot of fighting.  It was so much fun, even though I only lived through one battle.  One, the whole weekend.  Oh well. . .

Pictures from fighting:

Warm-up Fight!

Warm-up Fight!

Shield Wall!

Shield Wall!

Dying

Dying

After the First Round of Fighting

After the First Round of Fighting

Dev also fought in the gambeson for the first time, and apparently it fights well, if a little warm!  Still, the report is that it is better than chain mail, on account of being lighter.

Fighting in the Gambeson

Fighting in the Gambeson

Sunday morning, we had more fighting.  I did a little better, but still kept losing and dying.  Really, I am a pretty terrible fighter– I just have too much fun to stop!

Trying to Flank and Failing

Trying to Flank and Failing

I am also a happy warrior, it would appear. . .

I am also a happy warrior, it would appear. . .

Dead Valkyrie

Dead Valkyrie

Kyle did well fighting as well, and looked quite sharp!

Kyle Ready to Fight!

Kyle Ready to Fight!

Of course, there was some time spent just hanging out as well, sitting and talking around the tents.

Get up and fight!

Get up and fight!

And then they all ganged up on Kyle. . .

And then they all ganged up on Kyle. . .

All in all, it was a wonderful weekend, and Kyle and I have a wonderful time.  Unfortunately, Jessica had to leave early, as she was just getting over the flu, but it was still nice to have her there!

Here’s to our second year of going Viking, and may it be as wonderful as the first!

The Fighters!

The Fighters!

Published in: on June 7, 2010 at 1:44 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://costumegirl.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/tivoli-2010-the-vikings-have-returned/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dear Kelsey, How would a Norwegian woman’s dress change in 500 years, from 1000 to 1500AD? I can easily find a link for examples in the 1800s, but I want to go further back. Thankyou so much for any help, Debra 🙂

    • Debra,
      I unfortunately do not know much about women’s clothing in Norway during that time frame, but I hope I can point you in the right direction to learn more. A book that would be highly relevant would be Woven Into the Earth by Else Østergård. While that book focuses on clothing in Greenland, at that time Greenland was ruled by Norway and most, if not all, of its imports of clothing, cloth, food, etc., were from Norway. Aside from that, by the time the Viking Age ended, most of Scandinavia, especially the upper class, began to follow European fashions more or less, so any good book on Medieval Clothing would serve to give you an idea of what was worn. Granted, there will be some differences, but it will be close enough for a start.
      Hope I helped!
      -Kelsey


Leave a Reply

