It’s National Spinning and Weaving Week!!!

What are you doing to celebrate?

I am working on this lovely piece of tablet weaving:

Anglo-Saxon Tablet Weaving

Anglo-Saxon Tablet Weaving

As you can see, sometimes when one starts a new piece of tablet weaving, especially with a new pattern that I have never woven before, the beginning can be a bit. . . rough.  Grrr.  At least this pattern evened out quickly!

I now have about 8 feet of this pattern done.  I can get about 9-10 inches done in an evening if I work hard.  (It’s been a while since I started.)

I’ve been using this lovely wool for the weaving.  I can’t overstate how nice it is to work with, and what a nice fine weave it makes!  I love it.

In other news. . .  In case you’re wondering why you haven’t heard from me much lately, it’s because I’ve been busy with life after school, which includes starting my own business!  I have started an online spinning, weaving, lacemaking, knitting, and other textile arts supply store called Spindle, Shuttle, and Needle.  I have books, handmade spindles, shuttles, and other accessories made from Nebraska wood, lovely yarns and looms from Sweden, wool and silk roving from New Zealand, and many other wonderful things!  You should check it out!  In addition to these items, I am also offering custom-made versions of many of the costumes I have featured here on my blog.  (So, if you’ve been wanting one of those linen gambesons or a sweet Medieval dress, you know where to find one!)

I’m going to be busy again in the next few weeks, but hopefully I’ll be starting to do monthly tutorials on some of the crafts I always talk about here– nålbinding, spinning, even tablet weaving!  Soon you’ll be able to follow along and learn new crafts with me!

I’ll close with some pictures.  Pictures are always fun.

Here’s my booth at the “Viking Market” at this spring’s Tivoli Fest in Elk Horn, Iowa– my grand debut as a company!  Too bad it rained almost all day so I had to keep things in my tent most of the time.

I have spindles and shuttles and wool and linen for sale!

I have spindles and shuttles and wool and linen for sale!

I also taught spinning and weaving at a kid’s camp this summer.  It was a lot of fun!

Teaching the Kids

Teaching the Kids

Back to the website to add more items!  I hope you wander over to check it out and see what I have to offer!

Published in: on October 5, 2011 at 10:07 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://costumegirl.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/its-national-spinning-and-weaving-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

