Costume College 2017!

What a week!  I am mostly recovered now, and my thoughts on the week are more or less settled.  It was a lovely time, with lovely people in lovely clothes at a lovely location.  Short version, the end.

Long version:

This was my first year teaching.  How crazy and insane is that?  This was also the first year with all-day Thursday workshops, and I ended up being one of the first teachers for the first Thursday workshops.  Yikes!

I taught “Understructures of the Victorian Skirt” as a workshop on Thursday to four students.  We got a good start on our skirts, with everyone at least getting their panels all flatlined and interlined.

Laying out Fabric

Laying out Fabric

So that was all day Thursday.  In the evening, there was the pool party.  It was Disney themed, but I didn’t feel like making anything new, so I wore my Birka Viking clothes, because Vikings–> Lords of the Sea–> Water–> Pool Party!

I'm a pretty Viking Princess!

I’m a pretty Viking Princess!

At the pool party, I met this really fantastic group of ladies, who also did not follow the Disney theme.

Vintage Star Trek!

Vintage Star Trek!

These girls are all my heroes forever.

Friday, it was hit the ground running for classes and classes!

First up, was my lecture on Victorian Knitting.  I think it was overall well received.  I really like knitwear, so this was a good time for me to share my love of wool!

Victorian Knitting

Victorian Knitting

There is a disturbing lack of knitwear in this photo, but trust me, I brought such as I have so far and would fit in my suitcase.  (Photo taken by my friend Kristina, who I finally met in person at CoCo!)

After the Knitwear class, I had a quick lunch, and ran off to my Nålbinding class.  As usual, all my students were brilliant and were able to pick it up.  I’m always very pleased with my nålbinding students.

With no time for a proper supper, it was time for the Friday night social!  (I ate something, I just can’t remember what.)

The theme was “Our Favorite Spies”.  It was so much fun to see all the spies from pop culture and history in the great hall, as well as the other characters, historical, non-historical, and more.

I wore my soutache walking suit, which still doesn’t have a blog post of its own.  I’ve mostly been gleaning photos that other people took of it from Costume College also, because I didn’t take a lot of photos, and the lighting wasn’t awesome in the public photo space.

Soutache!

Soutache!

I will never not love the back of this bodice.

I will never not love the back of this bodice.

I really kindof wish now I had made it into Shotwell booth to get a professional photo taken, not that that would help me for the blog here and now…  Oh well.

Saturday, I didn’t dress up!  For real.  I decided that for my whirlwind schedule, it would be better to be comfy and easily able to maneuver through groups of other people.

First up, I had a wonderful Victorian purse class with Lynn McMasters.  I made an acceptable purse in the end. However, as all good projects will do, it taught me more about what not to do and what to do differently than I got right the first go.

Purse!

Purse!

After my purse class I had approximately 15 minutes to run to teach my lecture on the Understructures of Victorian Skirts.  It was really well received.  I am so happy that I was able to demystify aspects of the Victorian skirt making process and the supports built in for so many people.  I may do a blog post sometime in the future.

I then went to my velvet millinery leaf class with Lynn McMasters (again!).  She is such a delightful and knowledgeable lady.  I made three serviceable leaves, and got to take home a silicone stamp for making more.  Now I’ll have to watch for the remnant sale on Silk Baron to get more velvet for more leaves!

Velvet Leaves!

Velvet Leaves!

Then it was time to get ready for the Gala!

This dress will get its own blog post soon enough, I hope.  It’s my favorite thing I’ve made to date.  Raspberry silk taffeta, lined with black cotton sateen, trimmed with black silk net, antique silk lace, and antique jet beaded motifs.  I felt incredibly regal wearing it.

1893 Raspberry Silk Evening Gown

1893 Raspberry Silk Evening Gown

1893 Raspberry Silk Evening Gown Back

1893 Raspberry Silk Evening Gown Back

There were so many other awesome dresses at the Gala.  Here are just a few of my favorites:

Pinks!

Pinks!

(Taylor and I both had pink dresses inspired by Worth gowns.  PINK!)

Rebecca's Gorgeous Blue Gown

Rebecca’s Gorgeous Blue Gown

Stripey Goodness

Stripey Goodness

I was seriously impressed with the stripe placement and fit of this gown, made by Jessica.

Lovely 1830's

Lovely 1830’s

I wish I knew who this delightful young lady is.  She really knew her stuff, and did a wonderful job on her 1830’s gown.  Her buckle is antique!

The Fluffy Skirt Gang

The Fluffy Skirt Gang

Flemish?

Flemish?

I always really like seeing well done clothing from the lower classes of history.  It wasn’t all glitz and jewels, it was actually mostly sturdy wools and linens, in case we’ve forgotten.  But that didn’t mean people were sloppy or ill-dressed either.

Gorgeous 60's Gown

Gorgeous 60’s Gown

So I’ve never liked the fashion of the 60’s.  Never, until Costume College this year.  There was so much of it so well done, that I was warming to it.  When I saw this dress though, worn so well by the other Kelsey, it completely won me over.  It’s kinda like you see random abandoned bits of 60’s furniture in your grandparents’ basements, and think “ugh, how could anyone like this?”  Then you see a room done well all in 60’s and suddenly, you understand why it was a thing.  Kelsey showed me exactly how and why 60’s fashion was a thing.

Roomies!

Roomies!

Sunday was a lazy day for me.  I went to only two classes, one on Byzantine Clothing, and one on kilts.  I did dress up, but in stuff I wear all the time at Stuhr.  As such, it’s comfortable for me to wear, and actually only took 10 minutes to dress in.

1890's Waist and Skirt

1890’s Waist and Skirt

1890's Waist and Skirt

1890’s Waist and Skirt

Monday, before I went to the airport, was fabric district day!

Home Fabrics, Land of Silk

Home Fabrics, Land of Silk

First stop was Home Fabrics.  It’s a wonderland.  I restrained myself pretty well, considering most of the silk on the second floor was only $6 a yard.  I got enough blue plaid for another silk shirtwaist, and some pink stripe and green stripe for a couple of Gibson Girl style vests for myself and a friend.  (She gets the pink!)

The second stop was a trim store.  I was looking for some specific trim for a 90’s wrapper, but they didn’t really have it.  They had some that looked similar, but it was pretty plasticy.  Maybe I’ll just have to be insane and weave some.

Trims Galore!

Trims Galore!

The final stop was B. Black and Sons.  They have been one of my favorite places to order from online for years– I used to order whole bolts of wool flannel when I was doing Viking orders.  It was a magical kingdom of wool, wool, and more wool.  I really love wool.  I didn’t buy any wool though, because I might have a glut of it at home.  Just maybe.

B. Black and Sons

B. Black and Sons

Fun fact: B. Black and Sons was founded the same year my house was built.  Also, all those movie posters are movies and shows they have provided wool for.  (I told them they need to find a poster for The Originals.)

Then it was time to go to the airport and fly home.  Travel went well, everything arrived mostly undamaged at the airport in Omaha, and I flopped into bed incredibly late.  (I’m always very afraid of my luggage not arriving.)

Costume College Haul

Costume College Haul

I got a nice little variety of items to bring home.  The fashion plates were a steal, actually– I got them two for one at the very end of the day in the Costume College Marketplace.

I hope you enjoyed all my pictures and tales of my shenanigans!  Until the next time I’m actually able to put down the sewing and write!

Published in: on August 9, 2017 at 12:00 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://costumegirl.wordpress.com/2017/08/09/costume-college-2017/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

